Sprint Retrospective Blog #1

Hello everyone, I’m Abdullah Farouk, for those who may not be familiar with me yet, and I’m here to document my second sprint retrospective blog for this semester. Let me begin by saying how impressed I am with our collective efforts in adapting to these issues; we’ve managed to go  through various changes very nicely. While there’s certainly room for improvement across the board, I want to say we have successfully navigated through this long sprint. This sprint went deeper into our project which is the libre food pantry. The first thing we did in the beginning of the sprint was weighing the different issues and breaking some epics into smaller issues and assigning it to our team, just like we did in the last sprint.  Then, we prioritized these tasks and started working on them. Personally, I found class time to be particularly productive, allowing me to get most of the issues done, with the support of my teammates. Obviously, there were moments when there were challenges, but having my teammates by my side proved to be helpful. Additionally, I want to say I prefer in-person meetings over virtual ones; the presence of one another helps me be  more productive, as opposed to interacting only through computer screens. I would definitely say that this sprint went better than sprint-1, everyone was more involved because we knew what we had to do in order to finish the semester. Our work was more evenly spread and we did not have any major hiccups or challenges that we couldn’t figure out as a group.

I feel like we fixed our issue of not knowing how to weigh the issues properly, compared to the first sprint. I downloaded discord on my phone so I was responding more to my classmates outside of class time, which is a BIG improvement from last semester. One thing we still need to put some more work and effort into is adding a description to some of the issues that we created. It was still a little difficult for me to figure out what they wanted me to do just from the title, so I had to ask a classmate to double check. I hate asking people for help on things that should be more clear, so that’s one thing we need to be better at in the next sprint.

Other than those minor issues, I think me, and the team did a great job going through these issues and completing them on a timely basis. To improve as an individual, work on these issues gradually. I took spring break for granted, when I should have finished at least the issue that I was working on so I don’t hold my team back. To improve as a team, I think we should start adding a description of the issue under the title just so we don’t get confused and be more organized I would say.

https://gitlab.com/LibreFoodPantry/client-solutions/theas-pantry/reportingsystem/reportingapi/-/issues/25

  • Verifying that ReportingAPI has correct extensions and linters

https://gitlab.com/LibreFoodPantry/client-solutions/theas-pantry/reportingsystem/reportingbackend/-/issues/68

  • Verifying that ReportingBackend has correct extensions, linters, and pipeline stages

https://gitlab.com/LibreFoodPantry/client-solutions/theas-pantry/inventorysystem/checkinventoryfrontend/-/issues/26

  • Examine GuestInfoFrontend with its wireframe to see if there is any helpful code that can be shared

https://gitlab.com/LibreFoodPantry/client-solutions/theas-pantry/guestinfosystem/guestinfobackend/-/issues/122

  • Research functionality of “nodemon” and how to properly integrate it

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started