Hi, my name is Abdullah Farouk and this is going to be my first blog post for CS343 class. We are learning about Rest API and I was out this week of class so I thought it would be a great idea to read and learn more about it on my own. I am using a post from free code camp that I found online to reference this, I will post it down bellow for you all to give a read. For those of you who don’t know much about Rest API, I will explain most of what you need to know about it in this post. The word REST stands for representational state transfer and API stands for Application programming interface and if you don’t know what that means, it basically finds a connection between programs so they can transfer data. Rest is a software architecture that sets constraints and conditions to how the API is supposed to be used. This lets us interact with the data that is stored on the webservers. Companies love to use REST API for a lot of reasons like its effectiveness and how it makes client-server interactions better. The REST API makes it easy for us to communicate with the servers by giving us HTTP request methods to use. request methods including GET, POST, PATCH, and DELETE which we saw in our classwork assignments that the professor wrote. GET lets us get the information and read the data. POST is used to create a data, like creating a new client. PATCH lets us update the data that is on the server while DELETE obviously deletes the data. We saw examples on how to make the calls on the class work, but this really explained it in detail so I can get a better understanding. When you want to make a call, you have to first include the method type, which is one of the above options.  And depending on the method you are using, is what you will have to include in the body. For example, you have to include the student ID if you want to get info about a student from the data. Same thing applies when you are trying to delete data. It’s a little different when you are trying to create/update data because you have to tell it what the thing you want to change is and what you want to change it to.  The post that I read, that I will have the link to down below, gives us an example on how to actually use these methods. It is really helpful, and I suggest everyone to give it a read.

reference article: https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/what-is-rest-rest-api-definition-for-beginners/


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started